And the award goes to….me?

So I’ve been nominated for an award…!! That was unexpected!! Thank you so much for nominating me Katherine of A Hansen Chronicle. Being very new to this blogging lark it really is a boost to know that a few people are reading, and even enjoying, what I write 🙂 The best thing about this nomination is that it encouraged me to read other blogs so that I can pass on the award, so thank you. I also need to apologise for my tardiness in posting this as I have been travelling for the past month. You can find out more about the award, my reflections and my nominations below.

http://ahansenchronicle.com/

The Liebster award is given by bloggers to other up-and-coming bloggers to highlight their work and encourage them to continue. Liebster, from German, means dearest, beloved, favourite.

Here are the guidelines for receiving and perpetuating the award:

1. Thank the blogger that has given you the award and include the Liebster logo.
2. Answer the questions that blogger set for you.
3. List five bloggers you nominate for the award.
4. Create questions for them to answer.
5. Go to their pages and notify them.

Here are the questions posed to me and my answers…

What prompted you to start your blog?

I wanted to capture my search for my family’s history and see if I could enjoy writing again. This is from my first blog post:

“I wonder where the urge to blog comes from. What is it that makes us want to both share our stories and to collect the stories of others? It’s such a solitary act, yet as soon as I publish this it is available to be seen by anyone and everyone, for ever. I feel like I’m 7 again. We’re at the theatre with my grandparents and I’m the shyest 7 year old you can imagine. Yet when they ask for children to come up on stage at the end I’m the first one there. I don’t know why I’m there, I just know that I want to be.”

https://theromblood.wordpress.com/2015/06/14/hello-world/

What’s your day job?

I am a social science research analyst in New Zealand.

Do you have any regrets about starting your blog?

None. I just wish I could find more time to write. At the moment I can only get into writing ‘mode’ late at night. This was fine as a student, but not now I have to get up for work!

Do you have a favourite post you’ve written?

Hmmm… It’s not my most read post (and I’ve only written a few so far), but I’ll go with ‘Gypsy Feminist’. “This gypsy feminist creature must be exotic, right? Traditional meets modern with her copy of ‘The Feminine Mystique’ poking out from under her headscarf.”

https://theromblood.wordpress.com/2015/07/06/gypsy-feminist/

What’s your favourite comment you’ve received?

Apart from your comment nominating me for this award Katherine 🙂 it would be this comment on my blog post about the Roma Holocaust. I think that the most powerful thing I could imagine doing with my writing is to share a different perspective and to affect others. That’s my excuse for my rants anyway 🙂

“I’m moved. Moved by compassion towards all who suffer at the hands of tyranny, great and small. Moved that these people will never be remembered, so cannot be forgotten. Thank you so much for sharing your history, your heart and for informing us, the ignorant.”

I would like to nominate:

Derby News for fantastic articles giving an alternative news perspective and a voice to those affected, and particularly for this post on Remembering the Reality of the Need for Roma Genocide Day.

Fortune Teller Lisa Boswell for her insightful post Romany Gypsy Genealogy: How Culture Affects the Search.

Misty has a blog has gone viral with this post on white-passing privilege. You may no longer count as up-and-coming with 65,000 hits on that post, but I wanted to nominate you anyway 🙂

The Anglo Indian Project for weaving your personal story of ancestry with broader historical and cultural content, as well as a great level of detail of how to go about this quest.

The Rubbish Junkie for your post on Wasted Potential: Life in the Calais Jungle for sharing another perspective and showing how you can be part of the change that you want to see in the world.

My questions for the 5 of you:

  1. Why do you blog?
  2. What do you enjoy about blogging?
  3. Do you have any regrets about starting your blog?
  4. What would you love to achieve with your blog?
One thought on “And the award goes to….me?

  1. Pingback: Anglo Indian Project: Liebster award | Anglo-Indian Project

Leave a Reply

